A healthy city contingent competed at the Rim Rock Classic in Lawrence, with Hayden, Seaman, Shawnee Heights, Topeka High and Washburn Rural sending their squads. The first four of those schools competed in the Crimson flight, and Hayden’s Tanner Newkirk turned in a first-place performance, finishing the race in 16:11.1. Shawnee Heights’ Kory Sutton finished 19th in the race, while Taegan Loy’s 34th place finish was tops for the Vikings and Addison Sigg had the best time of the day for the Trojans. Of the 45 teams who competed in the race, Seaman placed 10th, Hayden placed 26th, Shawnee Heights was 30th and Topeka High was 39th.

In the girls Crimson race, Kylie Phillips placed 11th for Shawnee Heights to lead the city contingent. Megan Allacher had Seaman’s best time, Riley Schmidtlein was Hayden’s first finisher, and Zoe Caryl had the best time for Topeka High. Seaman was 21st out of 38 teams, while Hayden placed 37th.

Washburn Rural’s runners competed in the Gold flight, where Caleb Wright’s 15th place run led the Rural boys to a 3rd place finish out of 26 teams. The Rural girls were 12th out of 20 teams, with Madeline Carter turning in the day’s best time for them.


Seaman was scheduled to play in the Emporia Invitational, but it was cancelled due to rain.


Hayden, Highland Park, and Seaman competed in the Seaman Invitational. The hosts reached the final, where they fell to Lansing, who went 6-0 on the day. Prior to that loss, Seaman ran off victories over Hayden, Highland Park, Silver Lake, Manhattan, and Free State. Hayden went 3-3, beating Highland Park, Silver Lake and Manhattan. The Lady Scots were 0-6 on the day.

Shawnee Heights turned in a strong performance at the Olathe East Invitational:

Washburn Rural hosted a star-studded invitational that included the likes of Blue Valley, Kapaun Mt. Carmel, and Gardner-Edgerton. Though the Lady Blues did lose to Blue Valley in pool play, they won both their matches in bracket play, toppling Gardner-Edgerton in the championship match.

Topeka West competed at the Campus Invitational, which was won by Wichita East.