Shawnee County Baseball Hall of Fame Announces Seven Inductees

The 2019 Shawnee County Baseball Hall of Fame committe has announced their seven member class that will be inducted on July 16th at the Ramada Hotel in Topeka.

The inductees are Larry Elliott, Mark Elliott, Jeff Jacobson, Topeka Jack Johnson, Jim Parrish, Bob Speake and the Topeka 7-Up Reds (1972-1984)

Jim Parrish was given the Beany Conwell Award, which honors those who promote and build organizations for summer baseball.

Jeff Jacobsen was given the Bob Fidler Media Award for his work for the Topeka Capital Journal.

In addition to honoring its 2019 class, the Hall of Fame will also name the most outstanding senior high school player from Shawnee County.

The keynote speaker will be Bob Kendrick of the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum.

The banquet will be on July 16th and will start at 6:00 p.m. with a social at 4:30 p.m.

Tickets are 30 dollars or 240 for a table. they can be purchased by contacting the SCPR at 785-251-6800.