USDA’s Drought Monitor for Kansas is unchanged for the second straight week, indicating drought in at least nine southwestern counties. Moderate drought remains in Hodgeman and southern Ness counties, stretching into a majority of Finney, Gray and Haskell counties. Grant, Lane, Morton and Stanton are also impacted. Combined with pre-drought conditions, 18.74 percent of Kansas is in some stage of dryness, contained to the southwestern part of the state.

The U.S. Drought Monitor is jointly produced by the National Drought Mitigation Center at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, the United States Department of Agriculture, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Map courtesy of NDMC.