Top Horses And Riders For Year Honored By Eastern Kansas Horseman’s Association

Horse is the most important ingredient to be a horseshow winner, yet the rider still determines final standings.

Yearend awards of the Eastern Kansas Horseman’s Association were highlighted by recognition of the top horse and rider combinations.

Lane Svoboda received many yearend awards in the Eastern Kansas Horseman’s Association including the Horse of the Year Award for Walt.

At the awards banquet in Salina, the highpoint Horse of the Year Award went to Walt ridden by Lane Svoboda and Grant Slough.

Additionally, Svoboda and Walt collected the award for being the junior highpoint horse and rider unit. They were also the highpoint youth in the youth 10-13 division receiving awards as the yearend champion in nine events. 

Furthermore, Svoboda was presented the Rosie Clymer Junior Boy Sportsmanship Award as well as being named the association’s Junior King. He placed in 10 additional events for the yearend.

Super Horse Award went to “V” shown by Sara Prochaska. The team also collected honors as the senior highpoint horse and rider unit. Prochaska was the highpoint adult in the 41-60 division topping four events in the yearend standings.

Named the EKHA Junior Queen, Heather Patry was honored as the Rosie Clymer Junior Girl Sportsmanship Award recipient.

Sara Prochaska received the Super Horse Award for her horse “V” along with several other yearend recognitions in the Eastern Kansas Horseman’s Association.

Kyah Keesecker and Riggin Parker were especially recognized as the Rosie Clymer Most Improved Junior Riders.

Age group rankings for yearend highpoint awards in order were:

Youth six and under: Ava Brown, Riggin Parker, Paislee Yadon, Kyah Keesecker.

Youth seven to nine: Grant Slough, Charlie Purdue, Dawson Strunk, Rowley Keesecker.

Youth 10-13: Svoboda, Kaitlyn Watkins, Shea Augustine, Tava Gustafson.

Youth 14-18: Karlee Thrush, Michelle Patry, Rylee Noyes, Ellie Wiles.

Adults 19-40: Katie Purdue, Alaura Hemphill.

Adults 41-60: Prochaska, Cynthia Weber.

Adults 61 and over: Frank Buchman, Ron McDonald.

Salina Silver Spurs was the highpoint club for the year followed by Blackjack Saddle Club, Sand Springs Saddle Club and Junction City Saddle Club.