Four Topekans, Eleven Area Players Selected for 2020 Kansas Shrine Bowl

Topeka High star and future Minnesota Golden Gopher Ky Thomas headlines a group of eleven players from the 580 Preps area who were selected to play in the 2020 Kansas Shrine Bowl. The rosters were announced Saturday.

Thomas, who finished his career with a 3,000 yard rushing season and became the city’s all-time leading rusher while ranking second on the state’s rushing list, was chosen along with his Trojan backfield teammate Da’Vonshai Harden, a Kansas commit. Also selected from the capital city were Washburn Rural running back/defensive back Jaylen Carter and Hayden lineman Andrew Schmidtlein, who is signed to play baseball at Washburn.

Joining those four players on the East team are Rossville lineman Kody Davoren, Emporia offensive lineman Hayden Pauls (an Iowa State signee), Perry-Lecompton running back/linebacker Grant Roush, Jefferson West lineman Kauli Saili, and Jackson Heights lineman Carson Williams.

Riley County quarterback/defensive back Garrett Harmison and Manhattan lineman Sam Shields (a Kansas State signee) will suit up for the West team.

The 2020 Shrine Bowl will be held Saturday, July 18th at Yager Stadium in Topeka.